The Mythology in Slaves of Destiny

I did quite a bit of research into mythology while writing Slaves of Destiny. If you know me, then you know I’m already cringing at the word “research.” I am probably one of the laziest writers you’d ever meet. Though pulling from myths and fairy tales is sometimes easier than making up your own shit. So I usually do a combination of both.

For Slaves of Destiny, the heroine is a nymph. I read a bit about greek mythology before writing the book. I wanted to make her as close to “real” as possible. Nymphs are notorious partyers. Drinking, dancing, orgies… They enjoy pleasures of the flesh. Sexy, right? šŸ˜‰

But they have a weakness, according to myth. Satyrs have an unnatural obsession with them. For the story, I exaggerated this. In Slaves of Destiny, satyrs had hunt the nymph population almost to extinction, forcing Seraphina to hide in order to survive. They don’t just have an obsession for them — they tear them apart while sating their lust.

I don’t know about you, but I love these Greek mythological paintings. They were a source of inspiration for me both for plot and character development. I love that the woman have hips and meat on them. I tried to form Seraphina to fit that look.

Nymphs. It was the root word of nymphomaniac. He looked at her sleeping body. She was built for sex. Hips big enough to grab onto. A cute, bitable ass. Sturdy curves and bone structure.

nymph

And like the nymphs from mythology, Seraphina is a very sensual being. She likes sex. She also needs sex, especially on the full moon. This is what drives her and Bodhi together. Her need to “feed” and his desire to help her. And, well, he’s a guy and she’s beautiful so that helps šŸ˜‰

nymph3

I didn’t follow so closely to the stories of myth when it came to incubi. The whole gender switching thing doesn’t work for me and there’s some gross stuff having to do with semen. I don’t want to give too much away so that’s all I’ll say on that subject. Just that there are incubi in the book and they have a major part in the story. A sexy part šŸ˜‰

Slaves of Destiny release on Friday, December 20th. There’s a release party on Facebook here. I’m giving away a $25 amazon gift card so come by and leave a comment!

sd_sm

One thought on “The Mythology in Slaves of Destiny

Leave a Reply

